This site is not optimized for Internet Explorer 8 (or older).

Please upgrade to a newer version of Internet Explorer or use an alternate browser such as Chrome or Firefox.

About CTSNet


The mission of CTSNet is to advance education and collaboration in the global cardiothoracic surgical community through Internet resources.

Overview is the most comprehensive, heavily trafficked, and reliable online source of information about cardiothoracic surgery available worldwide, and its online community of cardiothoracic surgeons is the largest in the world. A not-for-profit organization, CTSNet is jointly overseen by The Society of Thoracic Surgeons (STS), the American Association for Thoracic Surgery (AATS), and the European Association for Cardio-thoracic Surgery (EACTS). Numerous other cardiothoracic surgery organizations from around the world are involved in CTSNet as Participating Organizations. Among many key electronic resources pertaining to the cardiothoracic surgery specialty, CTSNet offers:

Community Traffic

Cardiothoracic surgeons and medical professionals affiliated with the practice of cardiothoracic surgery are the heaviest users of CTSNet, and it is the niche web destination for all those involved in the specialty. The most-visited areas of CTSNet are the Career Center, the Techniques Section, and the Surgical Videos Section.

CTSNet Board of Directors

A. Pieter Kappetein, MD, PhD, President
Douglas Wood, MD, Secretary
Duke Cameron, MD, Treasurer 
Pavan Atluri, MD
David Cooke, MD, FCCP, FACS
Bryan Meyers, MD, MPH
Patrick Myers, MD
David Rice, MB, BCh, FRCS
Juan Sanchez, MD
Moritz C. Wyler von Ballmoos, MD

CTSNet Co-Editors

Joel Dunning, FRCS, PhD
Mark K. Ferguson, MD

CTSNet Deputy Editors

Mara Antonoff, MD
Arie Blitz, MD
Tom C. Nguyen, MD

CTSNet Aortic Portal Editor

Mohamad Bashir, MD, PhD, MRCS

CTSNet Volunteerism Portal Editor

Emily Farkas, MD

CTSNet Resident Editors

Amy Fiedler, MD
Leanne Harling, MD

CTSNet Staff

Grahame Rush, Executive Director
Jazmine Blanch, Sponsorship & Customer Relations Manager
Emily Massa, Web Content Editor